Menu Close

Super Tuesday! What You Need To Know


  • Super Tuesday will take place on Tuesday, March 3, 2020.
    • Super Tuesday refers to the day in the 2020 primary cycle when the largest number of states and territories hold a primary or caucus.
  • Fourteen states and one territory are holding a primary event on Super Tuesday:
    • Alabama, American Samoa, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.
  • California and Texas are the two most populous states in the United States, and both hold their primaries on Super Tuesday.
  • California Democrats will award 415 pledged delegates.
    • California also is allocated 79 superdelegates.
  • Texas Democrats will award 228 pledged delegates.
    • Texas also is allocated 34 superdelegate
  • After Super Tuesday, a little more than one third (38%) of pledged delegates will be awarded.
  • Currently, based off polling and delegates allocated, it is more likely than not that no one will have 1,991 delegates on the first ballot in Milwaukee.

2020 Democratic delegate rules

  • The Democratic National Convention will be held July 13-16 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
  • In 2020, there are 4,750 delegates.
    • 3,979 pledged delegates
    • 771 superdelegates
  • To win the Democratic nomination, a presidential candidate must receive support from a majority of the pledged delegates on the firstballot.
    • 1,991 pledged delegates
  • Under the current DNC rules, if the convention is contested and goes to second ballot or more, superdelegates will be able to vote.
    • In this scenario, a candidate must receive majority support from all delegates—more than 2,375 votes.

Pledged delegate count as of today

Pledged delegate count as of today

Sanders – 60

Biden – 53

Mayor Pete – 26

Warren – 8

Klobuchar – 7

Leave a Reply